Skip to content

Fuel and heating oil · Switzerland

What fuel and heating oil cost in the latest month

The Federal Statistical Office’s average prices, published every month with the consumer price index: what a litre of petrol or diesel and 100 litres of heating oil cost, and what that means for your car and your heating over a year.

  • a litre of petrol 95
  • a litre of diesel
  • per 100 l of heating oil (3’001–6’000 l)

Your car’s fuel a year

Fuel
Kilometres a year
Consumption · litres per 100 km

Heating oil: the order size counts

CHF per 100 litres, VAT and taxes included, the latest month.

OrderCHF / 100 lvs. over 20’000 l
800–1’500 l––
1’501–3’000 l––
3’001–6’000 l––
6’001–9’000 l––
9’001–14’000 l––
14’001–20’000 l––
over 20’000 l––
Litres a year

Which card saves you most

Fuel cards, credit cards and vouchers that take money off a litre in Switzerland, worked out for your 1’050 litres a year (15’000 km at 7 l per 100 km, set above). Every figure is what the issuer’s own page states.

Your age
TCS member

What you save a year, in CHF

The discount at your litres minus the annual fee, from the second year on. A discount counts only at the brands named on the card.

  • 1st of 1

    Tamoil

    TAMOIL MyCard

    Read 10.10.2026 on Tamoil’s page

    • At the 250 Tamoil stations in Switzerland
    • 4 Rp. a litre at Tamoil
    • No annual fee
    • For 25 or older
    CHF42a year

    Filling up only at Tamoil

    Details and source
    4 Rp. a litre, 1’050 litresCHF 42
    • 10 Rp. a litre at the Herrlisberg Nord rest area (A3, canton of Zürich).
    • Monthly invoice.

    What we read (the provider’s page, in French):

    • «Pour les clients privés dès 25 ans»
    • «Économisez 4 centimes par litre – et même 10 centimes par litre à Herrlisberg Nord»
    • «Carte gratuite et sans frais de gestion»

    What we read (the provider’s page, in French):

    • «Dans les 250 stations-service TAMOIL en Suisse»

    Read on Tamoil’s pages on 10.10.2026; every quote is checked against the page every week, and a card whose page no longer says it is taken off this list once we have reviewed the change.

Not for you with these answers: TAMOIL CoolCard (ages 18 to 24 only), TCS Member Mastercard (for TCS members).

Points instead of francs

These cards pay in their retailer’s points. None of the issuers’ pages we can read states what a point is worth in francs, so we show the points and do not rank them against the cards above.

  • AGROLA

    AGROLA energy card

    Read 10.10.2026 on AGROLA’s page

    • At more than 400 AGROLA stations
    • Energy club points: 1 a litre, up to 10’000 litres a year
    • No annual fee
    1’050energy club points a year

    For your 1’050 litres

    Details and source
    • Points are exchanged for rewards from the energy club catalogue and stay valid for 2 years.
    • Monthly invoice.

    What we read (the provider’s page, in German):

    • «Über 400 Tankstellen schweizweit»
    • «Keine Jahresgebühr»

    What we read (the provider’s page, in German):

    • «1 Liter Treibstoff an der Zapfsäule = 1 Punkt»
    • «Pro Kalenderjahr können Sie maximal Punkte im Wert von 10'000 l Treibstoff»
    • «Die Punkte sind ab Tankung / Bezug 2 Jahre gültig»

    Read on AGROLA’s pages on 10.10.2026; every quote is checked against the page every week, and a card whose page no longer says it is taken off this list once we have reviewed the change.

  • Coop Pronto

    Coop Pronto Card

    Read 10.10.2026 on Coop Pronto’s page

    • At Coop Pronto stations
    • Superpunkte: 1 a litre
    • Annual fee not stated by the issuer
    1’050Superpunkte a year

    For your 1’050 litres

    Details and source
    • Discount bons can be redeemed on top.
    • Monthly invoice.

    What we read (the provider’s page, in German):

    • «Bei jeder Tankfüllung und bei jedem Einkauf mit der Coop Pronto Card sammeln Sie wertvolle Superpunkte (1 Liter = 1 Superpunkt)»
    • «dem Rabattbons zusätzlich ein»

    Read on Coop Pronto’s pages on 10.10.2026; every quote is checked against the page every week, and a card whose page no longer says it is taken off this list once we have reviewed the change.

  • Migrol

    Migrol Private Card

    Read 10.10.2026 on Migrol’s page

    • At more than 550 places in Switzerland and Liechtenstein: Migrol stations, and Shell stations with a migrolino or mio shop
    • Cumulus points: 1 a litre
    • CHF 10.70 a year from the second year; free in the first year
    1’050Cumulus points a year

    For your 1’050 litres

    Details and source

    Paper invoice: CHF 3, free with direct debit (LSV+ or Debit Direct) or eBill.

    • A Cumulus card alone earns 1 point per 2 litres at Migrol; the Private Card doubles it.
    • Monthly invoice.

    What we read (the provider’s page, in German):

    • «Die Migrolcard bietet Ihnen ein Akzeptanzstellennetz mit über 550 Standorten in der ganzen Schweiz und im Fürstentum Liechtenstein»
    • «Dazu zählen auch Shell Tankstellen mit migrolino oder mio Shop»

    What we read (the provider’s page, in German):

    • «Jahresgebühr Im 1. Jahr Gratis Gratis Ab dem 2. Jahr 10.70 9.90»
    • «Rechnung Papier 3.00 2.75»

    What we read (the provider’s page, in German):

    • «Treibstoff 1 Punkt pro 2 Liter / 2kg 2x Cumulus-Punkte mit Migrol Private Card»
    • «Migrol Private Card: 2 Liter / 2 kg = 2 Cumulus-Punkte»

    Read on Migrol’s pages on 10.10.2026; every quote is checked against the page every week, and a card whose page no longer says it is taken off this list once we have reviewed the change.

Cards that pay at the pump without a stated discount

  • Certo! One Mastercard · Cembra · Wherever Mastercard is accepted. 1% at three favourite merchants you choose; the page does not list which merchants can be chosen.
  • Cashback World Mastercard or Visa · Swisscard · Wherever Mastercard or Visa is accepted. Credited to the card account every month.
  • AVIA Karte für Private · AVIA · At about 800 AVIA and Enilive stations. Free breakdown service across Europe.
  • fuel & more · volenergy · At more than 700 stations: bp, Ruedi Rüssel, Miniprix and selected Shell stations. Monthly invoice.
  • Reka-Card · Reka · At more than 1’000 selected Coop Pronto, AVIA and BP stations. Reka money is bought at a discount through an employer or at Coop; the rate depends on where you buy it, and the page does not state it.

How the discounts work

One card per fill. You pay each fill with one card, so discounts do not add up: a Tamoil card and the TCS card cannot both be used for the same litres. Whether a voucher counts on top is in its issuer’s terms; Coop Pronto’s say its bons can be redeemed with the Pronto Card.

Only at the card’s own brands. A Tamoil discount counts at Tamoil, not at the station next door. The figure above assumes all your litres are filled where the card pays.

Is a detour worth it? The TCS rule of “three fives”: 5 Rp. a litre less is worth a detour of at most 5 km (10 km there and back), and only for a fill of at least 50 litres (TCS).

Cards issued only to companies are not listed: Shell Card, Migrol Company Card, Tamoil CompanyCard and CombiCard, DKV, UTA, Enilive Multicard, OIL! card. MEconomy earns nothing from these issuers and uses no affiliate links.

Prices at the station

The prices above are national monthly averages. For today’s price at a station, see the TCS Benzinpreis-Radar or Machelo; both rely on drivers reporting prices.

Why Switzerland has no official station prices

No federal law asks stations to report their prices, so no public body publishes them. In 2023 Parliament rejected a state price calculator on the Austrian model (motion 22.3804). Asked again in 2026, the Federal Council saw no need to act: prices are posted at the stations, and private services exist (its answer to interpellation 26.3113).

A parliamentary initiative submitted in June 2026 (26.430, Gaillard) would oblige stations to report their prices to a federal body at least four times a week and on every significant change; that body would publish them as open data. It is with the committee. Until then, we show no price for a single station or region.

Source: Federal Statistical Office (BFS), “LIK, Durchschnittspreise für Energie und Treibstoffe” (table su-d-05.02.91), read every working day; the BFS publishes a new month at the start of the next. These averages are a by-product of the consumer price index: the BFS notes that the mix behind them changes, so a month-to-month comparison is not a measure of inflation. They are averages across Switzerland; a station or dealer near you can charge more or less.

Heating-oil dealers quote a price only for your postcode and quantity, so we show the official average and leave the quote to them.